Books and She Moved

I keep meaning to start writing proper reviews of books. I was going to begin with Terry Pratchett’s “The Last Hero” hardback ‘picture book’ which I managed to get for £2.99 in Swansea’s Oxfam.  The many and rather magnificent illustrations seemed to have a profound effect on TP’s prose (or perhaps my way of reading was altered by the format) and I took a while to adjust to the experience. After adjusting, the book really was a riot and the illustrations really did enhance the reading experience. Before I could write a review, I began reading “Thief of Time” and that novel is proving so enjoyable that I haven’t had the inclination to write the review. Still, all in good time eh?

I began writing an Earth Balm arrangement of “She Moved Through the Fair” recently but abandoned it and have instead completed a solo guitar arrangement in the altered Csus2 tuning. It’s not the best tuning for a Mixolydian melody but I was able to use some of the ideas in my arrangement of “Lisa Lân” to accommodate the flattened seventh.

5 thoughts on “Books and She Moved

    1. earthbalm

      It really was far, far better than I’d anticipated. I’ve yet to read an average Terry Pratchett book. They are so uplifting, not just amusing but life affirming.

      1. I agree, my favourites are some of the early witches books… Wyrd Sisters 1988, Witches Abroad 1991, Lords and Ladies 1992, Maskerade 1995, Carpe Jugulum 1998.

Leave a Reply

