iRay and Lux comparison

I thought I’d post a comparison of the results of the same Daz Studio scene rendered in the iRay renderer and in LuxRender via the Reality plug-in. Both pictures are as they came out of the software, no post work other than to resize them to standard HD 1920 x 1080 pixels. The comparison isn’t quite a fair one as the materials were mostly iRay ready and I did nothing in Reality to make them Lux compatible. Both pictures rendered simultaneously, for the same length of time, on the same Mac Pro machine. The figure’s clothing is a Daz original item and the figure itself is the Genesis 3 base figure. The background is the Serengeti option for the Millennium Environment. I didn’t take the time to make sure that the background and foreground lighting matched and the LuxRender file isn’t very forgiving of the background asset’s geometry.

serengeti_archer_iray_1920
Picture file: Serengeti Archer iRay rendered. Copyright Dale Warner 2017.
serengeti_archer_lux_1920
Picture file: Serengeti Archer Lux rendered. Copyright Dale Warner 2017.
serengeti archer layers
Picture file: Serengeti Archer composite of two previous files. Copyright Dale Warner 2017.
21 thoughts on “iRay and Lux comparison

    1. I might pop them both into some photo editing software as layers and see what happens when thy are combined. Sounds like a cunning plan!

      1. I think I couldn’t decide whether I liked the sun overhead more (the face in shadow under the hood) or at an angle (the shadow of the bow on the skirt). Now you’ve confused matters! πŸ™‚

      2. I think that’s why I’ll never amount to anything or be successful at anything. I can never make up my mind about anything. There are aspects of all three I like. However, this was just an experiment, the picture isn’t trying to communicate anything. I am rather taken with the idea of a series of illustrations of UKLG’s work. I’ve also, at last, begun working on the music again. Thanks, as always Chris, for taking the time to read and comment.

      3. I’m sure you’re doing yourself down, Dale: being indecisive about equally good things shows some critical thinking, surely! Why did painters do a series of studies of sunflowers or cathedral facades if not to explore variety?

        Illustrating Le Guin’s work sounds a fine project. (Incidentally, have a look online at differently tinted versions of the cover of ‘The Dispossed’ — not sure why the publishers changed the hue. Not the same as your different edits!)

      4. Shall look up “The Dispossessed” covers shortly, thanks. I hope I’m moving towards something that I can realise as a project. I certainly miss that aspect of teaching.

      5. Thanks Greg. I’m not looking for any validation though. I was just trying to say simply that I find it difficult to make up my mind about anything.

Leave a Reply

