The Left Hand of Darkness

This is it (The Left Hand of Darkness), the book I’ve been waiting to read and the book generally regarded as “Ursula Le Guin’s masterpiece” – Science Fiction: The 100 Best Novels. I bought it today in Foyles, Bristol along with Carlo Rovelli’s “Seven Brief Lessons on Physics“.  It was on the shelves at Waterstones too but I couldn’t find the Rovelli book there and wanted both. I know, I could have bought each from different stores but that would be alien to me. UKLG books are a puzzle, they seem to be either in all book shops at any given moment or in none at all in another given moment. I keep eyeing up Melvyn Peake’s “The Gormenghast Trilogy” but I’m too mean to pay the £18 cover price.

Looking forward to reading these – I may have to go to bed super-early!!

lhod

carlo rovelli

5 thoughts on “The Left Hand of Darkness

  1. Don’t know the Rovelli title so can’t comment except to say the title alone is intriguing! As for the UKLG I really do hope you enjoy it! I’ve read it at least twice over the years, and almost feel ready for the next time, but I’ve a couple of other Ekumen titles to read first. Still, envying you!

    1. Went to bed super early (well, after the rather dreary return of The Doctor) and read the Rovelli book – only a short 80ish pages that try to explain simply concepts like Relativity, Quantum mechanics plus others. Began the Le Guin this morning. If the book is half as good as the two introductions I’ll be a happy man (perhaps ‘man’ isn’t the best choice reading this book). Happy egg-fest.

      1. Pasg Hapus to you too, Dale! Sounds like the Rovelli is worth a dekko from me, clearly this weekend is going to be a read-fest for you. 🙂

        Now I have to get my head round World Book Night — April 23rd — which I always miss every year. Until now, I hope! I’m working some ideas up for a post …

Leave a Reply

