Recording the electric guitar

I think that I may have solved my problem of recording my electric guitar.

I tried using the Peavey Vypyr 75 (mentioned in the previous post) as an audio interface today but found it a little too muddy without much fiddling and adjusting of the presets. I then tried using Native Instruments Guitar Rig in Logic and found most of the presets fairly bland and noisy though this might be due in part to some rusty technique. I then fed the headphone (speaker emulated) output of my Blackstar HT-1R into the line-in inputs of my Presonus Inspire audio interface, turning off the amp reverb and using Logic’s own reverbs, delays and modulation effects. Great results, not perfect but great! Clean hum free input with my modified Ibanez Blazer (Kent Armstrong humbucking blade pickups) that bothers nobody. And I can always put a dynamic mic in front of the speaker for recording when there’s nobody about.

blackstar
Blackstar HT-1R not for sale!
A photograph of 2 (1981 Japanese ) Ibanez Blazers
My favourite guitar (left).
One thought on “Recording the electric guitar

Leave a Reply

