I will choose a path that’s clear…

I think I may have come to a decision regarding my next step(s). I’m hoping to revisit my Earth Balm material of 15 years ago and re-record, re-arrange, re-write it with a progressive rock mentality. My mate Andy Long (I hope it’s alright to call you a mate Andy) has been (no pun intended) instrumental in this. There’s no need for me to ditch the re-working that I’ve already done on the material and I’m filled with ideas for odd meter changes, modulations of key and tempo changes and melodic and rhythmic contributions. I’ve a new name in mind too but more about that at a later date.

I thought I might begin by remastering an EP of tracks and making them available via my band camp account as much as a statement of intent as an attempt to generate a little revenue :).

But first, I have to spend some time completing a generic cover letter and a new CV as I haven’t needed them for 25 years. I was hoping the job centre would get in touch to help out with writing and editing the documents. I’ve searched on line for examples but most of them were lacklustre and contained errors. I think it’s also true that I’ve acquired such a broad range of skills and experiences over the last 30 years that it’s difficult to know what to keep in and leave out. That will probably become clear when I start applying for work and can tailor content to the job requirements.

Please wish me luck in both endeavours.

Apologies for using a Rush song lyric for the post title.

Photograph of myself and Nigel Hodge at the Castle jam night. Copyright info to follow.

11 thoughts on “I will choose a path that’s clear…

  1. Barrel-loads of luck heading your way, Dale! The revisit sounds (no, not a pun) a good way to capitalise on old material — I’m always interested when aging bands rework earlier hits rather than do a rather disappointing cover version.

      1. The day went well, thanks! Accompanied some good instrumentalists and singers in the morning, then rehearsed in the afternoon for an evening concert of Welsh songs with Crickhowell Choral Society, at which fantastic folk duo Taith played. Discovered that I’d accompanied some of the crwth/viola da gamba player’s pupils for their cello exams. So, a highly musical day! And you?

    1. Of course. I was hoping you would. I’d like to get rid of some of this gear so I can make a proper start.

      1. Too much gear indeed. “Too long unable to get the time to use it and bought more as a substitute.”

Leave a Reply

