John Mitchell

Photograph of John Mitchell. Copyright: Cheesestring. Source: Wikipedia.

John Mitchell. Copyright: Cheesestring. Source: Wikipedia.

Please take what I say below with a pinch of salt.

I’ve never been a prog rock fan. When I was studying for my A levels, most of the sixth formers were raving about Yes and Genesis and I remained unimpressed – all of the changing time signatures and key modulations annoyed me as did the (generally) pretentious fantasy inspired lyrics.

However, I recently saw (an old) youtube video of It Bites performing, with John Mitchell handling the guitar and vocal duties, and was an instant convert.

I bought the excellent Frost*‘s “Falling Satellites” yesterday and loved it. I also had the opportunity to pick up the It Bites “The Tall Ships” album but didn’t – a huge mistake as I later found out it’s deleted. I must have a copy as it includes the excellent “Ghosts”.  I’m also looking to buy the Lonely Robot album.

And so, I am now something of a Prog rock fan and actively seeking prog rock albums and seriously considering buying tickets for Prog rock concerts. What a revolting development! 🙂

John’s studio: Outhouse Studios

Leave a Reply

