A reading list

I thought I might just list the books I’ve read since my father passed away in November, to see if I (or anybody else) might identify a thread through them. In chronological order:

  • Emily Bronte – Wuthering Heights
  • Richard Burton – A Thousand and One Arabian Nights
  • Charlotte Bronte – Jane Eyre
  • Richard Matheson – I am Legend
  • Jane Austen – Mansfield Park
  • Jeanette Winterson – Oranges are not the only Fruit
  • Nigel Warburton – Philosophy The Basics
  • Dave Robinson and Judy Groves – Philosophy A Graphic Guide
  • Charlotte Bronte – Villette
  • Jens Zimmermann – Hermeneutics A Very Short Introduction

I also began and gave up on:

  • William Golding – Lord of the Flies
  • D H Lawrence – Lady Chatterley’s Lover

And dipped into:

  • The Penguin Dictionary of Philosophy

I’ve also discovered that I’d rather read a book than surf the internet and that I’m not keen on reading via a Kindle or other similar device.

 

Hope 2017 is being kind to everybody.

jane-eyre-cover
Jane Eyre book cover: 

https://www.penguin.co.uk/books/1072000/jane-eyre/

5 thoughts on “A reading list

  1. I haven’t read any of these except Lord Of The Flies and that was nearly forty years ago as it was a set book in school. Like you I have gone back to paper and away from my Kindle recently, I buy more books than I have time to read! Mostly dodgy liberal theological stuff.

    1. Liberal theological stuff can be good, it’s probably more life affirming than most secular books (a contradiction?) My mother gave me my father’s Kindle, I read two books with it and the process confirmed what I already thought – I prefer real paper books to virtual e books. I also read “Lord of..” for O level and thought I’d read a copy, got 20 pages in and remembered all that I didn’t enjoy about it. The philosophy books relate to my degree – a time when I actually understood something of what the topics meant. I hope I can meet up with you soon.

  2. Did you discover a thread? I confess I didn’t, unless that collectively they display how rich and varied human life might be. While there are classics interspersed among the philosophy books I wouldn’t say that you are looking for consolation, or certainties, or an escape. But I guess you got something positive from each of them; I do hope so!

    1. No, I didn’t discover a thread though I thought there might be one. I had enjoyment reading each but that’s as far as it goes. I’ve also resolved that the next run of books will come from the public library.

Leave a Reply

