Owls

I haven’t been able to post anything for a while due to circumstances beyond my control but thought I’d post pictures of the beautiful fabric owl sculptures in the market hall, Abergavenny.

I’m also reading some Diana Wynne Jones (The Chrestomanci series) and have just begun reading Susan Cooper’s first “Dark Rising” novel, “Over Sea, Under Stone” – it has to be said that I think this novel is really well realised.

Also visited the Lyceum Folk club last night for the first time in 3 years, for an entertaining night of British bluegrass.

 

p1030290

p1030300

p1030303

2 thoughts on “Owls

  1. I still have my childhood copies of Susan Cooper’s series. Back around 1973/4 our teacher told us that one of her monthly(?) children’s literature journals was featuring an excerpt from “The Dark is Rising”. She read it to us. I was captivated. Back in those days I received 10 cents pocket money a week. Paperbacks cost around $1.10. I had just finished saving up and buying the Narnia series. First I bought the Dark is Rising. Then I bought Over Sea Under Stone, and subsequently bought each one as it came out 🙂 Great books 🙂

    1. I love narratives where good clearly triumphs over evil. I’m waiting for “The Dark is Rising” to be delivered. Meanwhile, I’m reading Diana Wynne Jones’s “The Magicians of Caprona” but I’m not as taken with it as I was with her book “A Charmed Life”. Welcome back!

Leave a Reply

