York, and a new beginning

I returned to York this past weekend . It’s a beautiful place and it was as hard as ever to leave my son behind for his final degree year. More so because it’s become very obvious that he’ll almost certainly settle there permanently.

P1020942

Unusually, I made the journey back alone. I’d taken quite a few of the CDs that inspired my love of World music and played them at a suitable volume for the 5 hour trip (a lot of traffic problem en route). I hadn’t played the music for some 10 – 15 years but can see where a lot of the early Earth Balm tracks and general sound originated. If I haven’t already done so, I’ll create a page listing some of these CD albums and, if they are still available, create links to Amazon etc. “Sacred Ceremonies” and “Hemisphere No More” were the two stand-out CDs.

One of the significant things for me, was that I had time to think about a new name for my music to replace Earth Balm.

I’ve also managed to load up the Mac Pro with the software I need and already use.

 

2 thoughts on “York, and a new beginning

    1. earthbalm

      Hi Chris. As I suspected, I’ve already created a World Music page here: https://earthbalmmusic.wordpress.com/inspiration/world-music-cd-albums/ Although I have no particular faith, I’m fascinated by religion as an expression of individuals’ ‘philosophy’ and as social consensus. Since I began planning the re-recording of my music and the writing of new material, I’ve been planning to use ‘faith texts’ as the source of lyrical inspiration. The new name is an acknowledgement of that. I’ll not change the ‘Earth Balm Music’ blog name though. Then again, I find it hard to commit to any decision! Did you get the chance to pick up the books? Any you feel motivated to read?

Leave a Reply

