Tom’s Midnight Garden

I finished reading Philippa Pearce’s “Tom’s Midnight Garden” yesterday. I’m glad to say that I’d forgotten a lot of details about the book over the last 40 years since my previous reading. I was still moved when Tom finally met Mrs Bartholomew even though I knew it was coming. I had forgotten that Hatty became older and younger during the course of Tom’s wanders around the garden even though Tom himself didn’t. And best of all, I had completely forgotten that this was NOT a time-switch story. I shall read it again asap to check the clues Philippa Pearce placed in the narrative.

Recommended reading for old and young alike!

tom

EDIT: I’ve changed my mind: It has to be a time-switch story because of the skates!

Leave a Reply

