The Scream – Joan Aiken

I read Joan Aiken’s “The Scream” last night. I have to say that it was one of the most spooky / chilling stories that I have ever read. Most of the time I didn’t know where the narrative was heading next. The characters are quite disturbing – Gran, Lu-Lyn, the boys from the tower block and even David himself who seems to take everything that happens to him and others around him without even flinching.

Many years ago, I considered looking at the horror genre with my pupils. I thought about using Poe, Lovecraft or the better De Maupassant stories to pick apart and reconstruct. This would have been a so-much better resource.

Genuinely unsettling. Recommended!

scream

4 thoughts on “The Scream – Joan Aiken

  1. Haha! I wish I had a stronger stomach for horror and suspense. I think the scariest books I have ever read are bu Frank Peretti. I am sure that compared to this; Frank Peretti is nothing.

    1. Hello and welcome kandriot1. No stomach for horror needed, it is a children’s book after all. But it sure is creepy. Happy new year to you.

Leave a Reply

