The Wolves of Willoughby Chase

I’ve always wanted to read Joan Aiken’s “The Wolves of Willoughby Chase” since I was about ten or eleven and with the half term break here at last I thought I’d finally take the opportunity. I loved her short story anthologies when I was young but never had a copy until I borrowed a group reader from work. I began last night and, if I hadn’t had work today, would have read it all in one sitting. It’s a fantastic read, a real, quality, good, old-fashioned, children’s book. I’m sure that it has inspired many other children’s books – the Lemony Snickert  “Series of Unfortunate Events” series springs immediately to mind. You can imagine how happy I was to discover that other titles I knew from childhood (such as “Black Hearts in Battersea”) are part of the “Wolves” series. I know what my next few book purchases are going to be!

Cover of the book The Wolves of Willoughby Chase.
Cover of the book The Wolves of Willoughby Chase.

More:

http://www.locusmag.com/1998/Issues/05/Aiken.html

http://www.fantasticfiction.co.uk/a/joan-aiken/wolves-of-willoughby-chase.htm

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/0099572877/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1445624743&sr=8-1&keywords=The+Wolves+of+Willoughby+Chase

Leave a Reply

