Return from York

I spent a day and a half travelling to and back from York where we’d returned eldest son for the new University year Friday / Saturday. I had time to trawl the book shops which is always a pleasure. I was also able to grab a tiny bit of time outside the Minster to gaze and take a few pictures. York really is a lovely and inspiring city and a big part of me would dearly love to live there but Wales is just as beautiful in its own way.

Managed to finally get a copy of “Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell” by Susanna Clarke, “The Dispossessed” by Ursula K. Le Guin and (wonderfully) the “Snow Spider” trilogy by Jenny Nimmo. I’m tempted to rant on (the cliche) about how children’s books are so often better written than adults’ but I won’t – I’ll save it for another time.

So, that’s my reading sorted for the next few weeks / months with perhaps some Guy Maupassant ghost stories scattered in between.

Time to stop blabbering on and post some pictures.

I’m also compelled to say that my new school class is ACE.

Photograph of the Mercure hotel, York. Beautiful but blooming noisy!
Photograph of the Mercure hotel, York. Beautiful but blooming noisy!
Photograph of the renovated window at the entrance to York Minster.
Photograph of the renovated window at the entrance to York Minster.
Photograph of point and shoot camera detail of York Minster.
Photograph of point and shoot camera detail of York Minster.
One thought on “Return from York

Leave a Reply

