Last Earthsea post

I’ve nearly finished reading book five of six from the “Earthsea saga” (the last one I have to read) and I have to say that it is the one I have enjoyed the most – and it’s fairly obvious how much I’ve loved the rest!

It’s a set of short stories and an extended article about the ‘history’ of Earthsea.

“The Finder”, “Darkrose and Diamond” and “The Bones of the Earth” are wonderfully told narratives. The strangest of the three and perhaps the most beautiful in its resolution is the third. It’s also the history of the mage Ogion, that we first meet in the initial book in the series – “The Wizard of Earthsea”.

I’ve almost completed reading “On the High Marsh” and am looking forward to “Dragonfly” that serves as an introduction to “The Other Wind”.

It’s been a fantastic reading adventure that has left a lasting impression on me, given me food for thought and lots of idea for musical composition and visual artwork.

So, good value for money and time well spent!

The Word for World is Forest” will be my next purchase. It is apparently “Avatar” written before the “Avatar” film.

I must admit that I won’t miss WordPress auto-correcting the spelling of “Earthsea” to “Earths” every time I type it. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Last Earthsea post

  1. It was good to see The Word for World is Forest in a new edition in the local Waterstone’s as I’d been looking out for a secondhand copy for a while now. Another Ekumen story to add to my rereads next year.

    1. earthbalm

      I couldn’t get James Cameron’s “Avatar” out of my head as I read it. Of course UKLG is superior but then that’s the power of the written word.

Leave a Reply

