Earthsea Book 3

I finished the third Earthsea book this morning – blooming brilliant. Lots of high points including the dragon Orm Embar giving his life to help Ged and Arren defeat Cob, and the flight home on Kalessin. But, it’s the comments about equilibrium and consequences of actions that affect my reading the most. Just “Tehannu” left now from the “Quartet”. I’ve never read any Neil Gaiman and I saw “American Gods” on offer today. I hope it’s up to the hype (and I have a feeling it is)… though I wish I was beginning my Neil Gaiman journey with “The Ocean at the end of the Lane” or “The Graveyard Book”.

10 thoughts on “Earthsea Book 3

  1. Personally i could not finish Tehannu as much as i loved the first 3 books. I will be interested to see what you make of American Gods. i read it about 6 months ago. ☺

    1. earthbalm

      I find aspects of the story disturbing such as Therru’s past (there was an element of this in Tenar’s past in “The Tombs of Atuan” and information about what Mages do and don’t do. I’m hoping that by the resolution of the story arc that the point will be that everybody can transcend their past. I’m unsure as to whether or not I chose the best Neil Gaiman novel with which to begin or whether or not I’ll actually like his books. I will let you know. I also have (to read) an autobiography of the Iranian writer Shahrnush Parsipur who was imprisoned for many years for questioning the ayatollah’s rule. I’m not sure which will be first so it might be a while before I get to Neil Gaiman.

    2. earthbalm

      I’m putting off reading the Neil Gaiman as I’m not sure I’ll enjoy it. Meanwhile, I have ordered the last two books in the Ged era Earthsea.
      Would you say there was a spiritual aspect to Mr Gaiman’s work?

      1. That’s difficult to answer. He is a first and foremost a storyteller. I would be tempted to say that he uses spiritual constructs but they are not at the core of his writing. That’s a stupid reply on my part but its how i feel.

      2. earthbalm

        No, I value your comment, it helps. Perhaps ‘spiritual’ wasn’t what I meant, ‘moral’ or ‘morality’ may have been a more appropriate word.

      3. earthbalm

        Great, I do like a message of morality or spirituality in a story. Not overtly so though. I’m still not sure that I will enjoy Neil Gaiman’s work – the only way to fins out is to start reading “American gods” which I will do tonight.
        Thanks Greg.

      4. earthbalm

        It certainly is. I got as far as the end of the first chapter and the incident with the woman who wanted to be worshiped and that was quite enough for me.
        Perhaps I’ll come back to it one day but for now I’ll give it a miss.

Leave a Reply

