God, Higgs particle and the fence

The weather has been downright lousy and I’ve been unable to complete the task of painting the exterior woodwork under the roof. Without this task and / or school work to occupy me, my mind has been left to wander (not too far, it’s only a little one). Things do occur to me and it do be concerning science.

What’s in the space between the Higgs particles? Not a new thought on this planet in the realm of science but…

I love Brian Cox’s enthusiasm for particle physics and the origins of the universe and the big bang theory and the search for the Higgs particle in the LHC (I own enough of his books and DVDs!) but…

“We know for sure the Higgs particle is there, there’s evidence that it exists, we can see its effects but we just haven’t found it yet,” sounds very much like something my mother would say about God. I’m not sure that ‘the universe conforms to laws of physics’ is true. More likely that humans interpret the nature and events of the universe as conforming to laws to help us better able to predict what will happen. I don’t know if I’m making myself clear there.

Just saying, no axe to grind with anybody. I’m just sitting on the fence, as usual. Science and religion are not so far apart really and both can be equally beautiful in their interpretations. Truth probably lies somewhere in between or far, far outside. Neither religion or science may be correct but it can be useful to think of both as correct.

Perhaps I ought to stick to posting about art and poetry and music? Without a physical activity to occupy me, my tiny brain is sure to wander again.

I apologise if I have misunderstood anything about either particle physics or God.

Peace. Love and Prosperity (as I used to post in the old Earth Balm mp3.com days).

Here’s an addendum:

http://home.web.cern.ch/about/updates/2015/07/lhc-experiments-present-latest-results-vienna

Addendum to the addendum:

Please understand that there is no criticism of Brian Cox, implied or otherwise. The guy is a fantastic educator, very clear and very enthusiastic. As I said, I have many of his books and DVDs.

4 thoughts on “God, Higgs particle and the fence

  1. Interesting post! I think science is just a way of finding out about the way things are. At it’s core, it’s just a method. People have written whole books about how it works (and they are really quite tedious) but really it’s just ‘Poke something and carefully watch what happens to see what you can learn’. It’s tremendously powerful but it still has limits. There are some things we just can’t poke. As well as having originally trained as a scientist, I am also a Christian. Lots of people see a polarity between the two but I think looking with the eyes of faith is just another way to look for truth. I have glasses with two different precriptions in them – one for reading and one for PC work and the piano. One lens lets me see one aspect of the world around me and the other another aspect. For me this is what science and religion are like.

    1. Yes, that’s the point I was trying to make. Strange how some people are quite polarised in their view. Thanks for taking the time to post a comment, I do appreciate it.
      Dale

      1. I suspect that, ever since Gallileo, some people of religion have seen science as encrouching on holy ground and telling people truths which they feel should rightly come from faith. I sometimes wonder about whether the Enlightenment and the rise of science as a way of discerning truth would ever have happened if the ‘church’ in the middle ages had not become so corrupt and such an enormous and painful burden for ordinary Christians. My very personal view is that if the ‘church’ were not abusing faith in ways which weighed people down with impossible burndens (and threatening their dead relatives with hell if money was not forthcoming), that the drive and need to find alternative ways to know truth would not have been there. (Sorry if this is a bit controversial. It’s just something I wonder about sometimes.)

      2. Not controversial, it’s the sort of thing i like to read, whether or not I agree with it. “My very personal view…” is a great way to put it. I don’t know why some people on the inter web feel the need to insult or say “You’re wrong, I’m right” which brings us back to the point really. Things are never right or wrong, just matters of interpretation. Or should I say that in my view “Things are never right or wrong, just matters of interpretation”. I love faith, I love science and i’d love to hear different ideas about the nature of reality and existence – I’m never sure that existence and reality are the same thing in a vaguely kind of “Matrix” way.
        I did start a blog that was about ideas but nobody visited it. Please keep firing off your ideas here if you feel so inclined, I’d love to hear them.
        Thanks Jo for taking the time again to comment.

Leave a Reply

