Chris Squire: Legend and Inspiration

Sad loss.

Andy Long Bass Player

yes-chris-squireI heard the devastating news today that Chris Squire had passed away, just a short time after announcing that he had been suffering from leukemia.

I’ve been listening to Chris’s incredible, punchy bass lines since I bought my first two Yes albums around 1977. I was thirteen at the time and one of the boys in school wanted to sell these two LPs. They were ‘Time And A Word’ and ‘Tormato’. Two very different albums, neither of which would be thought of as classic Yes, but they started me on a journey which has continued ever since.

SCAN0068I first saw Yes live on 14th July 1984 at the NEC, Birmingham on the 9012live tour. A fantastic show that was opened by half an hour of Bugs Bunny cartoons on a big screen. I’ve seen them many times since then, in many forms, most recently on the three-album tour in…

View original post 165 more words

Leave a Reply

