More Rough guides

I had three Rough Guide CDs for my birthday recently, all excellent.

The rough guide to the music of China spans from the ancient tones of the erhu and pipa and the Inner Mongolian folk revival to original Shanghai jazz, Chinese Pop and the latest underground beats.

The rough Guide to the music of Palestine explores the diverse and wonderful array of music that springs out of adversity and expresses the deep roots of Palestinian identity.

The rough guide to Fado features a handpicked selection of some of the finest Fado musicians, both old and new.

All 3 CDs are worthy additions to my growing collection of these discs.

6 thoughts on “More Rough guides

  1. RG to music of China sounds innteresting as I love the strains of Erhu and Pipa though not too sure about the latter half of the CD 🙂
    Thanks for visiting my blog !

      1. Thanks for the word on blog !

        Speaking of Chinese music, a friend of mine from Shanghai was visiting here in Chennai just a couple of weeks ago and I was trying to find out from her the status of traditional music over there and her response wasn’t any encouraging …..for my visit there . Anyway, in case interested in traditional worldmusic, may find them at bbc.co.uk under their worldmusic archive. ‘would suggest you to give a listen to the Yi & Hani under China
        enjoy!! 🙂

      2. earthbalm

        Thanks for the recommendation. I love the sound of the Erhu, so plaintive and melancholy. I really don’t know enough about Chinese music though and I suspect that what I like is quite western sounding to non-western ears. Traditional Music seems to be having a revival at the moment. I hope it continues.

      3. Sure ! If you may, here’s a link to traditional music from my neck of the woods, may sound exotic but would suggest to give it a try when time permits.
        Another great musical tradition is West Africa, countries like Guinea,Senegal, Mali, Burkina and so on…but would strongly recommend music from Mali of all and nothing beats that…oh sorry, when it comes to music I will go on and on…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

