Straight Eight

I’ve spent the day sorting through magazines and books that I no longer want or need to take to Oxfam tomorrow. I thought I’d also sort through my small minidisk collection to delete music and give the disks away for re-use. Then I found my Straight Eight  “No Noise from Here” disk. I’d forgotten just how good the album (and their following two albums) were. I’ve also lost my BBC Radio “Live in Concert” disk.

Here’s some information from their MySpace page (which I think may now be deleted): 

“Formed in early 1976, the band after gigging the uk pub rock circuit soon went on to being discovered and signed by Pete Townshend of WHO fame. He released the first album ‘No Noise From Here’ on his EEL PIE records label. Subsequently the band got picked up by Transatlantic Records (UK) and RCA in the States. Releasing ‘Shuffle’N’Cut and then their 3rd album ‘Straight To The Heart’ in 1982. Unfortunately just as the band were due to begin a World Tour supporting The Who, drummer keith Moon died and the rest is history. Lineup was Rick Cassman, Boot Kingsman, Steve Cherry and Rod Berriedale-Johnson.”

I managed to get in touch with frontman and main songwriter Rick Cassman a few years ago. He was talking about a compilation CD but it has never materialised. That is a pity!

Photograph of the Straight Eight "Modern Times" 45 single. Copyright Eel Pie records.
Photograph of the Straight Eight “Modern Times” 45 single. Copyright Eel Pie records.
Photograph of Straight Eight's "No Noise from Here" vinyl album. Copyright Eel Pie Records.
Photograph of Straight Eight’s “No Noise from Here” vinyl album. Copyright Eel Pie Records.

 

Edit from June 18th, 2014.

Further to the comment by Rick Cassman today here’s a rough mix from the Bandcamp page:

I’m happy the band is back together and I will certainly be buying a copy of the album.

Cheers Rick and good luck!!

5 thoughts on “Straight Eight

    1. I’ve posted a link to the “Tell me if you want to bleed” video on Youtube. Thanks for posting, please upload more if you have them, it was a great to see what you all actually looked like!
      Dale

      1. Thanks Rick,
        I’ve subscribed to the channel! I just wish I’d seen the band live. I had the chance when you supported Slade at Cardiff Students Union but was told that Joan Jett would be the support instead of you. You were obviously as fantastic a live band as you were a recorded one. I’ll post links to the videos asap. Please keep in touch and update me as more material is made available.
        Thanks,
        Dale

Leave a Reply

