XP

So, today is the end of support for Windows XP. There was similar protest and backlash at the end of Windows 98 I seem to remember. People were complaining about the stability and appearance of XP! I have so much software and hardware which isn’t supported by W7 or W8 that (probably like many) I have set up my Dell Optiplex GX 280 to run them all. I’ve downloaded the final XP support files and updates available and I’m just running the last virus checks and backing up the system files. Then, I’ll unplug the wifi dongle and use the software and hardware when I need. It seems a shame to commit the OS and my system to obsolescence.  I’m considering loading Ubuntu Studio on to another spare machine I have sitting around. Thoughts?

Windows XP Pro screen. Copyright Microsoft.
Windows XP Pro screen. Copyright Microsoft.
Leave a Reply

