York Music stores

We didn’t really have a lot of time to look around the Musical Instrument stores in York – the University’s applicants day was a full one. I did manage a visit to Red Cow Music where there was an excellent assortment of tin and low whistles, bombardes and bamboo flutes.

Brilliant shop!

I fully intended returning to the store post University visit to buy a bamboo flute and low whistle but we arrived back in the city after closing time. Quite exciting was the fact that they were filming the new series “Jonathan Strange” just around the corner!

Photograph of BBC filming Jonathan Strange. Not sure who would own the copyright to this :)
Photograph of BBC filming Jonathan Strange. Not sure who would own the copyright to this 🙂
Photograph of BBC filming Jonathan Strange. Not sure who would own the copyright to this :)
Photograph of BBC filming Jonathan Strange. Not sure who would own the copyright to this 🙂
Photograph of BBC filming Jonathan Strange. Not sure who would own the copyright to this :)
Photograph of BBC filming Jonathan Strange. Not sure who would own the copyright to this 🙂

Musicroom had a pretty PRS Angelus SE that I sat and played. Nice but like the one in Brighton, it feels like a Chinese instrument. That’s not a bad thing as both my Tanglewoods are Chinese made. It’s just that nothing I play now feels or sounds as good as the Brook Tamar.

Edit: I’ll qualify that by saying’ “Nothing in my price range…”

Mormusic had this very playable Northwood guitar, hand made in Canada.

All stores were very helpful and made no attempt to wrestle an instrument from me and allowed me to detune and retune to my heart’s content. Musicroom even replaced a string that broke returning back to pitch – I suspect a nut slot that could do with being re-cut. Great stores that I’ll get to visit again if my son is fortunate enough to attend York University.

Thanks all.

Leave a Reply

