Olias

Photograph of record label of Jon Anderson's "Olias of Sunhillow". Copyright Jon Anderson 1977.
Photograph of record label of Jon Anderson’s “Olias of Sunhillow”. Copyright Jon Anderson or possibly Dave Fairbrother-Roe.

Recently, I have found myself listening to Jon Anderson’s wonderful “Olias of Sunhillow” (also here) in its entirety, several times a day.

It’s relaxing and uplifting and positive (something that seems to be lacking in a lot of today’s angry and angst filled music) and good mood creating.

I’ve said elsewhere in this blog that I own 3 vinyl copies of the album though at this time of writing I have no CD (but will remedy that shortly).

Jon Anderson has stated that the album concept was influenced by the work of Vera Stanley Alder.

Here is a blog dedicated to the album.

The amazing artwork was created by Dave Fairbrother-Roe.

Olias of Sunhillow album cover artwork. Copyright Dave Fairbrother-Roe.
Olias of Sunhillow album cover artwork. Copyright Dave Fairbrother-Roe.

Why not treat yourself to a copy?

2 thoughts on “Olias

    1. I don’t think I’d seen any bands at that time – first was “It’s Welsh Rock” headlined by Budgie in Pentwyn hosted by the Eisteddfod pavilion. I’m sure Marc Hammond my old bass playing mate went with me. I just love the “vibe”of the album though it was initially the artwork that attracted me. Are you playing anywhere local to me in the new year?

Leave a Reply

