sideways move

Last Thursday’s gig (Martyn Joseph) has made me rethink my approach.

  • I’ve mothballed the electrics for a while.
  • I’m going back to working on my old songs. I’ve many that I’ve never performed solo and many that are part complete.
  • I’ll ‘soften’ some of the Martin Simpson arrangements.
  • There’ll be a new focus in future songs.

It’s a pity that Martyn doesn’t perform “Carried in Sunlight’ anymore – I fully understand why but it is a song of rare beauty and power. The only song I can think of that I find as  moving is Janis Ian’s “Tatoo”. ‘Masters’ of lyrics and melody both of them.

 

Leave a Reply

