81 Ibanez Blazer, Mike Podesta & Cranes

Cranes Music Store, Cardiff
Cranes Music Store, Cardiff
Panoramic view of Cranes,
Panoramic view of Cranes, copyright Cranes Music

Since it opened in Cardiff, Cranes music store has been my “go-to” shop for gear purchases. I have spent thousands of pounds there over the years and have been happy to do so. It is their no-pressure approach that keeps me going back… and their great range of instruments.

Manager Mike Podesta sold me my Ibanez Blazer electric back in 1982 (an instrument I will keep until the end of time) when he worked in another shop in Newport (South Wales). He graciously agreed to have his picture taken with the guitar.

NB I know it’s stating the obvious but it is a right hand guitar and Mike is a left hander! Look at all those lovely electrics in the background. My Tanglewood TW66 electro acoustic, my Tanglewood 1000SR and my Admira electro-classical were all Cranes purchases.

Mike Podesta with 81 Ibanez Blazer
Mike Podesta with 81 Ibanez Blazer

Here is the guitar as it originally looked before I began changing pickups etc:

Picture of Ibanez Blazer in action before modding.
Ibanez Blazer in action before modding.
Leave a Reply

